Return to UK Politics

English Kings & Queens

757-796 Offa House of Mercia

802-839 Egbert House of Wessex

839-856 Aethelwulf House of Wessex

856-860 Aethelbald House of Wessex

860-866 Aethelbert House of Wessex

866-871 Aethelred I House of Wessex

871-899 Alfred the Great House of Wessex

899-925 Edward the Elder House of Wessex

925-940 Athelstan House of Wessex

940-946 Edmund House of Wessex

946-955 Edred House of Wessex

955-959 Edwy House of Wessex

959-975 Edgar House of Wessex

975-978 Edward the Martyr House of Wessex

978-1016 Ethelred II the Unready House of Wessex

1016 Edmund lronside House of Wessex

1016-1035 Cnut (Canute) House of Denmark

1035-1040 Harold I Harefoot House of Denmark

1040-1042 Harthacanut House of Denmark

1042-1066 Edward the Confessor House of Wessex

1066 Harold II House of Wessex

1066-1087 William I House of Normandy

1087-1100 William II House of Normandy

1100-1135 Henry I House of Normandy

1135-1154 Stephen House of Blois

1154-1189 Henry II House of Angevin

1189-1199 Richard I House of Angevin

1199-1216 John House of Angevin

1216-1272 Henry III House of Plantagenet

1272-1307 Edward I House of Plantagenet

1307-1327 Edward II House of Plantagenet

1327-1377 Edward III House of Plantagenet

1377-1399 Richard II House of Plantagenet

1399-1413 Henry IV House of Lancaster

1413-1422 Henry V House of Lancaster

1422-1461 Henry VI House of Lancaster

1461-1483 Edward IV House of York

1483 Edward V House of York

1483-1485 Richard III House of York

1485-1509 Henry VII House of Tudor

1509-1547 Henry VIII House of Tudor

1547-1553 Edward VI House of Tudor

1553-1558 Mary I House of Tudor

1558-1603 Elizabeth I House of Tudor

1603-1625 James I (King of Scotland as James VI 1567-1625) House of Stuart

1625-1649 Charles I House of Stuart

1649-1653 Commonwealth

1653-1658 Oliver Cromwell (Lord Protector) Commonwealth

1658-1659 Richard Cromwell (Lord Protector) Commonwealth

1660-1685 Charles II House of Stuart

1685-1688 James II House of Stuart

1689-1694 William III of Orange and Mary II (jointly) House of Orange

1694-1702 William III (alone) House of Orange

1702-1714 Anne House of Stuart

1714-1727 George I House of Hanover

1727-1760 George II House of Hanover

1760-1820 George III (1815-20 King of Hanover) House of Hanover

1820-1830 George IV House of Hanover

1830-1837 William IV (King of Hanover 1830-7) House of Hanover

1837-1901 Victoria (Empress of India 1876-1901) House of Hanover

1901-1910 Edward VII House of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha

1910-1936 George V House of Windsor

1936 Edward VIII House of Windsor

1936-1952 George VI House of Windsor

1952- Elizabeth II (Head of the Commonwealth of Nations) House of Windsor

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: