Return to The European Union

European Commission

 European Commission – Executive

The European Commission acts as the EU’s executive arm and is responsible for initiating legislation and the day-to-day running of the EU. The Commission is also seen as the motor of European integration. It operates as a cabinet government, with 27 Commissioners for different areas of policy, one from each member state, though Commissioners are bound to represent the interests of the EU as a whole rather than their home state.

One of the 27 is the Commission President (currently José Manuel Durão Barroso – Portugal) appointed by the European Council. After the President, the most prominent Commissioner is the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy who is ex-officio Vice President of the Commission and is chosen by the European Council too. The other 25 Commissioners are subsequently appointed by the Council of the European Union in agreement with the nominated President. The 27 Commissioners as a single body are subject to a vote of approval by the European Parliament.

  • is the “government”
  • submits proposals for new legislation to the Parliament and to the Council
  • implements EU policy and administers the budget
  • ensures compliance with EU law
  • negotiates international treaties
  • based in Brussels

Image result for european commission buildings



EU Commissioners 2014-2019


Commissioner Nationality Role Department Salary €/month Salary €/Year
Jean-Claude Juncker Luxembourg President 24,422.80 293,073.60
Frans Timmermans Dutch First Vice-President Better Regulation, Interinstitutional Relations, the Rule of Law and the charter of Fundamental Rights 22,122.10 265,465.20
Frederica Mogherini Italy Vice-President High Representative Foreign Affairs and Security Policy 23,006.98 276,083.76
Kristalina Georieva Bulgaria Vice- President Budget & Human Resources 22,122.10 265,465.20
Maros Sefcovic Slovakia Vice-President Energy Union 22,122.10 265,465.20
Valdis Dombrovskis Latvia Vice-President Euro & Social Dialogue 22,122.10 265,465.20
Jyrki Katainen Finland Vice-President Jobs, Growth, Investment and Competitiveness 22,122.10 265,465.20
Andrus Ansip Estonia Vice-President Digital Single Market 22,122.10 265,465.20
Gunther H. Oettinger Germany Vice-President Digital Economy & Society 22,122.10 265,465.20
Johannes Hahn Austria European Neighbourhood Policy & Enlargement Negotiaitions 19,909.89 238,918.68
Cecilia Malmstrom Sweden Trade 19,909.89 238,918.68
Neven Mimica Croatia International Cooperation & Development 19,909.89 238,918.68
Miguel Arias Canete Spain Climate Action & Energy 19,909.89 238,918.68
Karmenu Vella Malta Environment. Maritime Affairs & Fisheries 19,909.89 238,918.68
Vytenis Andriukaitis Lithuania Health & Food Safety 19,909.89 238,918.68
Dimitris Avramopoulos Greece Migration, Home Affairs and Citizenship 19,909.89 238,918.68
Marianne Thyssen Belgium Employment, Social Affairs, Skills and Labour Mobility 19,909.89 238,918.68
Pierre Moscovici France Economic and Financial Affairs, Taxation and Customs 19,909.89 238,918.68
Christos Styliandes Cyprus Humanitarian Aid & Crisis Management 19,909.89 238,918.68
Phil Hogan Ireland Agriculture & Rural Development 19,909.89 238,918.68
Jonathan Hill UK Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union 19,909.89 238,918.68
Violeta Bulc Slovenia Transport 19,909.89 238,918.68
Elzbieta Bienkowska Poland Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs 19,909.89 238,918.68
Vera Jourova Czech Republic Justice, Consumers and Gender Equality 19,909.89 238,918.68
Tibor Navracsics Hungary Education, Culture, Youth and Sport 19,909.89 238,918.68
Corina Cretu Romania Regional Policy 19,909.89 238,918.68
Margrethe Vestager Denmark Competition 19,909.89 238,918.68
Carlos Moedas Portugal Research, Science and Innovation 19,909.89 238,918.68


Commissioners Entitlements as of 28th November 2012


  1. On taking up office:
  • On assuming office, Commissioners are entitled to an installation allowance of two months’ salary.
  • Costs of travel to Brussels and moving expenses are reimbursed.


  1. While in office:


  • The basic salary of a member of the Commission is currently (since 1 July 2010) €20.667,20 per month (the Vice-Presidents earn €22.963,55, the High Representative earns €23.882,09 and the President earns €25.351,76)
  • The salary is subject to Community tax. There are 14 marginal tax rates, ranging from 8% to 45%.



  • Commissioners are entitled to a residence allowance of 15% of their salary.
  • Commissioners are entitled to a monthly entertainment allowance of € 607.71 (Vice-Presidents and the High Representative receive € 911.38, the President receives €1418.07).


  1. On leaving office:
  • Upon leaving office, Commissioners are entitled to a resettlement allowance of one month’s salary.
  • Travel expenses and moving costs are reimbursed.
  • A transitional allowance is paid for three years, beginning on the day after leaving office. This allowance is between 40% and 65% of the final basic salary, depending on the length of service. This allowance is subject to Community tax.
  • The transitional allowance is capped. If the former Commissioner takes up any new gainful activity, the amount of the new job’s salary, added together with the allowance, cannot exceed the remuneration as a member of the Commission.


Retirement pension

  • Former Commissioners are entitled to a life pension, payable from the age of 65. The pension is subject to Community tax.
  • Pension rights depend on the length of a Commissioner’s term in office. The amount of the pension is calculated as 4.275 % of the basic salary for every full year in office. The pension may not exceed 70% of the final basic salary.
  • Commissioners on unpaid leave do not accumulate pension rights for the time they are on leave.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: