Return to Politics

Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO)

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization or SCO  is a Eurasian political, economic and military organisation which was founded in 2001 in Shanghai by the leaders of ChinaKazakhstanKyrgyzstanRussiaTajikistan, and Uzbekistan. Except for Uzbekistan, the other countries had been members of the Shanghai Five, founded in 1996; after the inclusion of Uzbekistan in 2001, the members renamed the organisation.

Afghanistan, India, Iran, Mongolia and Pakistan have observer status, and with the exception of Afghanistan will be granted full membership in September 2014, giving the SCO a combined population of around 3 billion people. Belarus, Sri Lanka and Turkey hold dialogue status and may be granted full membership in the near future.


Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (logo).svg


Formation 26 April 1996
Type Mutual security, political, economic organisation
Headquarters Beijing, China
Official language Chinese
Secretary General Dmitry Fyodorovich Mezentsev
Deputy Secretaries General Mikhail Alekseyevich Konarovskiy
Anvar Djamaletdinovich NasyrovJuyin Hong
Parviz Davlatkhodjayevich Dodov

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: